Photo by Tilly Berendt.

Good morning and welcome to the first day of Badminton Horse Trials, presented by MARS Equestrian! It’s going to be a wonderful day of dressage competition as we’ll see the first half of the 83-combination field today in front of the judging panel of Christian Landolt, Anne-Marie Taylor, and Seppo Laine.

You can view full ride times here. We’ll see some notable rides today to get things going in full swing, and we’ll also see a good bit of our North American representatives today. Here are some notable times:

9.54 a.m. BST/4.54 a.m. EST – Olympic individual silver medallists Tom McEwen and Toledo de Kerser

10.10 a.m. BST/5.10 a.m. EST – European Champions Nicola Wilson and JL Dublin

10.18 a.m. BST/5.18 a.m. EST – World Champions Ros Canter and Allstar B

11.10 a.m. BST/6.10 a.m. EST – Reigning Badminton champions Piggy March and Vanir Kamira

11.18 a.m. BST/6.16 a.m. EST – Lillian Heard and LCC Barnaby

11.26 a.m. BST/6.26 a.m. EST – Phillip Dutton and Z

11.42 a.m. BST/6.42 a.m. EST – Tamie Smith and Mai Baum

12.06 p.m. BST/7.06 a.m. EST – Ariel Grald and Leamore Master Plan

2.48 p.m. BST/9.48 a.m. EST – Luhmühlen runners-up Christoph Wahler and Carjatan S

3.04 p.m. BST/10.04 a.m. EST – Luhmühlen winners Mollie Summerland and Charly van ter Heiden

3.12 p.m. BST/10.12 a.m. EST – European team gold medallists and Bramham winners Kitty King and Vendredi Biats

3.48 p.m. BST/10.48 a.m. EST – Will Faudree and Mama’s Magic Way

4.44 p.m. BST/11.44 a.m. EST – Matt Flynn and Wizzerd

4.20 p.m. BST/11.20 a.m. EST – Badminton winners Jonelle Price and Classic Moet

Refresh this page frequently for updates from day one, and don’t forget you can also tune in live or on demand yourself by picking up the Badminton TV pass. It’s just $20 or £19.95 and is good for an entire year from the day of purchase, so you’ll have plenty of time to catch up on all the action yourself.

Thanks for following along with us!

Badminton: Website, Entries, Live Stream, Live Scoring, Dressage Start Times, EN’s Ultimate Guide, Course Preview, EN’s Coverage, EN’s Twitter, EN’s Instagram

5:04 a.m. EST: Pats from a happy Tom after earning a personal best with Toledo de Kerser:

GIF via Badminton TV.

5:01 a.m. EST: Joseph Murphy scores a 31.5 with Cesar V, and we’ll now see William Fox-Pitt with the first of his two rides, Oratorio. Harry Meade has helped prep William’s horses this spring after he took a tumble earlier in the spring that kept him out of the saddle. Oratorio has jumped clear around Badminton in the past. And a bummer early on as he’s picked up an error in his test, turning the wrong way after the initial centerline. That’ll be two penalty points added.

4:59 a.m. EST: Tom will likely want a few points back in his walk work and the first flying change, but we also saw a healthy number of 8s and 9s coming in and fully anticipate a top score: a 23.4 is the provisional, which would be a personal best for Tom at this level.

4:58 a.m. EST: We’ve got a 10, ladies and gents! A 10 on the extended canter from judge at H Seppo Laine.

4:57 a.m. EST: Toledo de Kerser wouldn’t be one you’d peg to have tension in the ring and while he’s looking a bit more tense in the walk he’ll be able to make up some points in the canter work.

4:55 a.m. EST: Already a couple of 9s on the board for the first few movements.

4:53 a.m. EST: Padraig goes into the very early lead with a 31.7 aboard Fallulah. Now we’ll see one of the first heavy hitters in Tokyo partners Tom McEwen and Toledo de Kerser. This will be one you can fairly expect to go into the 20s and could easily also be one you could see at the top of the board come Sunday.

4:47 a.m. EST: Now we’ll move on to our first Irish pair, Joseph Murphy and Cesar V. Joseph is fresh from Kentucky, where he competed Calmaro in the 5* and finished in the top 10. Cesar V is 14 this year and makes his 5* debut at Badminton this weekend.

4:45 a.m. EST: You can find live scores at this link. Kirsty’s is the first to hit the board: a 32.8 that will be a strong score to be on if they can jump clear on Saturday.

4:42 a.m. EST: A really nice job managing the excitement for Padraig, who brought Fallulah to her 5* debut at Pau in 2021.

4:36 a.m. EST: A really nice test to get us started from Kirsty. John Kyle mentions that Christian Landholdt spent some time watching the 5* test ridden in Kentucky to help himself prepare for judging this weekend. Pretty cool! Next to see will be Ireland’s Padraig McCarthy and Fallulah.

4:32 a.m. EST: Classic VI gets a bit wonky in the reinback and hits the rail, but we’re safely into the canter work and Kirsty’s doing a wonderful job of keeping the mare’s focus on her. Nice changes — a bit of anticipation but she’s being obedient.

4:29 a.m. EST: And we are underway with the first to see, Kirsty Chabert and the 13-year-old British Sport Horse, Classic VI.